Tuesday, March 21, 2006

The Complete Catholic Handbook

The Complete Catholic Handbook

Who made you? Has God a body? Is Jesus Christ truly God? Why do we make the sign of the cross? What does the word Catholic mean? How is the Church Apostolic? It is the aim of this handbook to answer these and other questions pertaining to Catholic doctrine as well as offer a compendium of all other important information relating to Catholic Faith and Liturgy and a summary of the most important elements of Holy Scripture. Though this is specially suited for Catechists, the handbook will be useful for all Catholics whatever their ages, intellects and circumstances.


Chapter I

Chapter II

The Apostles Creed
First Article of the Creed : I believe in God, the Father Almighty, Creator of heaven and earth
Second Article of the Creed : And in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord
Third Article of the Creed : Who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary
Fourth Article of the Creed : Suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, dead, and buried
Fifth Article of the Creed : He descended into hell; the third day He rose again from the dead
Sixth Article of the Creed : He ascended into heaven; sitteth at the right hand of the Father Almighty
Seventh Article of the Creed : From thence He shall come to judge the living and the dead
Eighth Article of the Creed : I believe in the Holy Spirit
Ninth Article of the Creed : The Holy Catholic Church; the Communion of Saints
Tenth Article of the Creed : The forgiveness of sins
Eleventh Article of the Creed : The resurrection of the body
Twelfth Article of the Creed : Life everlasting


Chapter III


Chapter IV: The Commandments of God

The First Commandment : I am the Lord thy God, who brought thee out of the land of Egypt, and out of the house of bondage. Thou shalt not have strange gods before Me. Thou shalt not make to thyself any graven thing, nor the likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or in the earth beneath, nor of those things that are in the waters under the earth. Thou shalt not adore them nor serve them.
The Second Commandment : Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord thy God in vain
The Third Commandment : Remember that thou keep holy the Sabbath day
The Fourth Commandment : Honour thy father and thy mother
The Fifth Commandment : Thou shalt not kill
The Sixth Commandment : Thou shalt not commit adultery
The Seventh Commandment : Thou shalt not steal
The Eighth Commandment : Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour
The Ninth Commandment : Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife
The Tenth Commandment : Thou shalt not covet they neighbour’s goods

Chapter V: The Commandments of the Church

Chapter VI: The Sacraments

Holy Eucharist
Anointing of the Sick
Holy Order

Chapter VII - Of Virtues and Vices

Chapter VIII - The Christian's Rule of Life

Chapter IX - The Christian's Daily Exercise

Compiled from the Penny Catechism published as The Explanatory Catechism of Christian Doctrine by Burns and Oates,1921; with additions taken from the Catechism of Christian Doctrine, approved by the Archbishops and Bishops of England and Wales,1921; further additions taken from the traditional (St. Joseph’s) Missal and other orthodox catechisms bearing Imprimaturs; and incorporating the Ordinary and Proper of the Tridentine Mass. No copyright reserved This handbook may be reproduced in whole or in part.


No comments: